Background

U18s Academy

Created ahead of the 2021/22 season, The Harrogate Town AFC Academy aims to create an environment for enthusiastic individuals to flourish and support first team operations.

All players are encouraged to show creativity and individuality whilst further developing an outstanding work ethic, desire to succeed and positive attitude as a base to allow further development both on and off the pitch.

We combine coaching with education to produce confident, respectful, talented & creative individuals in a professional football club environment.’
 
The Academy will be headed up by Academy Manager Paul Stansfield, who will be supported by an outstanding and experienced team which includes Head of Youth Coaching Josh Law, Head of Goalkeeping Phil Priestley, Academy Secretary Jane McCulloch, Academy physiotherapist Laura Rhys-Williams, Sports Scientist Will Macgregor and Lee Barraclough as Head of Recruitment.

The Team

The Academy compete in the EFL Youth Alliance North East, allowing regular competitive fixtures and a clear pathway and progression through the ranks. Home fixtures are played at York St John University.

Fixtures & Results

Saturday 27th August
Town 0-0 Hartlepool

Saturday 17th September
Town 1-2 Grimsby

Saturday 24th September
Mansfield 0-2 Town

Saturday 1st October
Town v Doncaster

Saturday 15th October
Town v Rotherham (cup)

Saturday 22nd October
Town v Burton Albion

Saturday 29th October
Huddersfield v Town

Saturday 5th November
Morecambe v Town (cup)

Saturday 12th November
Scunthorpe v Town

Saturday 19th November
Town v Rotherham

Saturday 26th November
Grimsby v Town

Saturday 3rd December
Town v Huddersfield

Saturday 10th December 
Town v Carlisle (cup)

Saturday 7th January
Town v Mansfield

Saturday 21st January
​Doncaster v Town

Saturday 4th February
Burton Albion v Town

Saturday 11th February
Town v Scunthorpe

Saturday 18th February
Bradford City v Town

Saturday 4th March
Hartlepool v Town

Saturday 11th March
Rotherham v Town

Saturday 18th March
Town v Lincoln City

Our inaugural season ended with a respectable 11th place finish, with Emmanuel Ilesanmi, Ben Tweed and Brad Williams all making their first team debuts, as well as other Academy players regularly training with the first team and being involved in the match day squad.

Ahead of the 2022/23 season Harrogate-born George Horbury became the first player to make the step from the Academy to a professional contract with the first team.

2021/22 Season

Our two-year football scholarship incorporates football and education delivered by the LFE (League Football Education) with scholars leaving with a BTEC qualification.

For news regarding the progress of our Academy, follow @HarrogateYouth on Twitter.

 
Harrogate Town AFC
By Pixelbuilders | Leeds Digital Agency
This site, like many others, uses cookies to function and to help us understand how to make your journey better. To find out more about our use of cookies and your options, please click here and to find out more about how we use data, please click here to read our privacy policy.

If you would like to turn off non-required cookies (such as any third-party cookies) please turn the toggle to off.
Additional Cookies
Accept and close