Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Cup Final penalty shoot-out defeat for Town youngsters

14 June 2021

Town youngsters narrowly missed out on the West Riding Trophy following a penalty shoot-out defeat to Hemsworth Miners Welfare FC.

There were four goals within the 90 minutes but the two sides couldn't be split come the final whistle and game went to penalties in which our U19s side unfortunately lost.
The Town youngsters started the brighter of the two sides with Joe Naiver in-particular providing a threat down the left. First, the number 11 went down under a challenge inside the Hemsworth box and there were calls for a penalty which the referee waived away. Then just a minute later, Naiver forced a close-range save from the Hemsworth keeper.
However, it was the opposition who took the lead and it came from the penalty spot in the 23rd minute. A Hemsworth attacker was brought down by the Town keeper and their number nine stepped up to take the penalty, slotting the ball past Leon Heppell.  
The Wells then doubled their lead just before half time as their centre half rose highest to power a header home following a corner.
The second half started with Town on the front foot and both Harry Boyer and Joe Naiver came close to reducing the deficit. The energy and ability of Paul Barker's side was beginning to show and Town grabbed their first of the night just after the hour mark through substitute Ben Barker.
The left-back received the ball from Naiver just inside the box and Barker took one touch before finishing well, past the Hemsworth keeper.
Momentum was now building as Town looked for the equaliser and it soon came via a Harry Lee header as he met an inswinging corner and headed the ball perfectly into the bottom corner.
Town continued to attack and looked to take the lead for the first time during the 90 minutes but were unable to get the advantage they were after and the game ended with score 2-2.

Penalties followed in which Hemsworth won 4-1.
Town squad: Leon Heppell, Josh Hardcastle, Connor Whelan, Danny Mutch, Harry Lee, Lewis Dobson, Gabe Hopkinson, Alfie Dean, Harry Boyer, Josh Wicks, Joe Navier, Ethan Thorpe, Alex Hields, Adam Kellet, Joe Gosling, Kieran Burton, Ben Barker

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account