Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Harrogate Town AFC to launch Hall of Fame

20 January 2023


Harrogate Town AFC to launch Hall of Fame

20 January 2023

We are excited to officially launch our Hall of Fame, recognising the individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the club over our proud 108-year history.

The Hall of Fame will be located in multiple locations across Harrogate – our new supporters bar at The EnviroVent Stadium, Official Store on Commercial Street, Executive Lounge and Cedar Court Hotel.

Chaired by supporter Bernard Higgins, the Hall of Fame committee consists of a diverse group of Harrogate Town supporters representing different areas of the club, from the Independent Supporters Club to the Supporters Trust and Club Officials.

With the support of the club the Hall of Fame committee was formed and have been meeting regularly once a month since June. Phil Harrison the football club's historian put together an extensive list of those individuals who have made significant contributions over a number of years at Harrogate Town AFC since it was established in 1914 from which the initial 11 inductees were selected.

The first 11 inductees into our Hall of Fame will be announced on between Monday 23rd January and Thursday 2nd February, with the first inductee revealed on the 23rd.

An official launch event will be held at Cedar Court Hotel, on Thursday 9th February, 2023, with Chairman Irving Weaver and Manager Simon Weaver both in attendance.

Following the event, details will be revealed on how supporters can play their part in shaping our Hall of Fame and selecting the 12th and final inductee of the 2022/23 season.

Inaugural Hall of Fame members along with family of those who have sadly passed away will be invited back to The EnviroVent Stadium over the course of the 2022/23 season, where their contributions to the club will be celebrated.

Each season, two more individuals will be inducted to the Hall of Fame.

Hall of Fame Inductees

George Dunnington - Inducted into the hall of fame in recognition of the work he did in developing the ground.

George was invited to Wetherby Road in the early 1980s by managing director Alan Smith. When he first arrived, it was for a drainage problem and through hard work in the 1980s and 90s George, with his willing band of workers including his brother Alf, set to work which resulted in a brand new grandstand, floodlights, terracing, clubhouse extension, fences, turnstiles, toilets, changing rooms, garage and canteen.

He was elected Chairman in October 1986 until 1998. November 1993, in his main role as head of ground development, saw Town's Wetherby Road ground voted best non-league ground in North of England thanks to him and his team of workers. In January 1994 he received £100 as part of his Ackrill/Dunlopillo 'great sports award' for his services to local sport and put it towards further ground improvements. 2012/13 saw him as the new club President.


Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account